Today (well, yesterday)

June 20, 2010

Shabbat Shalom!

I guess it’s a new day, since it’s 2:13 in the morning, so I’ll refer to what I still think is “today” as “yesterday” if that makes sense. To make it clear: today=Sunday, yesterday=Saturday. So maybe I shouldn’t have started this off with “Shabbat Shalom” since Shabbat ended about six hours ago (thanks to the rainy Florida weather, which I have to admit, I love. And, I’m not being sarcastic when I say that. No, seriously, I love the rain; it’s so calming and tranquil.)

Anyways, I went to Temple this yesterday morning (see, I’m already forgetting that it’s a new day) only to find out the I was one of the only three people that had come (not including the Rabbi). Since you can’t have a sermon (I forgot the real world, so I’ll just use “sermon” here to replace it) with only three people (you need 10) we read the Torah portion and discussed it. This week’s was about Moses and the Israelites (of course) and took place when they were wandering the desert (of course), and of course, the selfish Israelites complained the entire time and needed a miracle to be preformed for them, once again, lest they loose faith (and again, of course). It was a great Torah portion. The Rabbi even gave me a book to keep, so that I can learn more about Judaism, and we had the Kiddush afterwards, and all and all, the service was well worth getting up early in the morning for. I loved it.

Last Friday night, I saw CHICAGO! which is only my all time favorite movie, but I got to see the play this time. Can you say fan-freaking-tastic? Best this ever, and it has been happily crossed off of my bucket list. My mom wonders why I have one of those at such a young age, so I’m jokingly calling it “before-my-braces-list” which isn’t a funny title, even if you did understand the meaning behind it, and with that, I have my next piece of news.

I’m getting braces put on in less then two weeks. You know, I’ve been wanting them for forever, G-d knows why, and now I’m deeply regretting the wishes spent wanting them, because in preparation for my braces, I have to wear spacers between my teeth (basically, rubber bands that are seperating my back teeth from one another because they’re so close, and there needs to be room to put my braces on). It’s killing me, I tell you. We just bought some Lays Kettle Cooked potato chips (are those kosher? all well.) and I can’t even enjoy them! Oh the horror, the tragedy!  Count down the days for me, people, until I am no longer allowed to enjoy other delights that I love so much, such as popcorn and corn on the cob. We will mourn for my loss together.

Since my teeth are killing me from my spacers, I’m thinking about making soup to eat for lunch tomorrow today (the only food that doesn’t seem to absolutely murder my poor teeth and gums). I found this tasty looking (and easy to make) recipe online that I’m going to try out (and possibly add some of my own touches to? you never know!) and I’ll tell you guys how it tastes: beef dumpling soup. I don’t know whether it’s because I’m hungry, or whether it’s because I have had an undying love for beef ever since I gave up my five year reign of vegetarianism about a year ago, but that sounds delicious.

While you’re waiting for the review on that recipe, does anyone have any suggestion on how to ease the pain of these darn spacers? Tips would be much appreciated, since I’m growing tired of constantly megadosing on Ibprofen every six hours.

Loving fondly and redundantly,

The Jewbie

(ps, all those cross outs were all the times that I forgot that today was a new day. It’s so confusing.)

Leave a Reply

