“…and when I laid beside you, for the first time, I told you:

August 5, 2010

I feel you in my heart, and I don’t even know you.” -Nineteen, Tegan & Sarah

I love that song. I don’t know why, but not many people share the same passion for Tegan & Sara that I have. I think that they are either coming, or just came to Orlando. I wish I could(‘ve) see(n) them.

Tomorrow is going to be a REALLY busy day for me, and yet I’m way to anxious to fall asleep, and I don’t know why. I have an orthodontist appointment in the morning (I have to remember to ask them about why my jaw is constantly hurting now, and I have to get them to pop my wire back in), after, I’m going to come home and eat lunch, then pick Tana up, and her and I have to go to our high school to get book vouchers, and then to the community college to get our books, and I need to get my ID and parking decal. I really need to remember to bring all of my papers, because I probably will forget. Then, I have to come home and clean in preparation for my mom’s boyfriend’s birthday party (the big six-oh!) and then, finally, I get to rest. I hope.

Then Friday is the birthday party, which I hope will be fun. Saturday and Sunday should be rest days (except I think I’m going to go to this “Taste of the JCC” thing on Sunday), and then next week starts another week that my mom insists I’ll need the full time for to clean, pack, and get ready to go on another vay-kay (vacation, for the lingo-inept). My friend wants to do a sleepover Monday night, and then I promised another one of my friend’s some time to make up for not being able to go to her birthday party tomorrow, and I also want to stop by the Orthodox Shul that’s apparently not that far from my house, and see if I can make an appointment to talk to the Rabbi.

Also, I just got my FCAT Writes score back, and, drum roll please, it was a…SIX! Yay! For those of my nonreaders (because I don’t have any besides my boyfriend and best friend) that don’t know what FCAT is, nonetheless FCAT Writes, well, it’s the really stupid test Florida gives out to make all of us feel like we are all really dumb for having to take such an easy and stupid test that Florida honestly thinks we will fail. They either give it to us because they think we’re dumb, or because they want to singlehandedly improve our self esteem by letting us think we’re getting really high marks on a “hard test” that’s actually a first graders homework in disguise. Well, anyway, I digress, FCAT Writes is the writing (obviously) portion of FCAT  and I got the highest score on it (of course, because I’m just such a genius. Aren’t I humble?) which is a six, out of, of course, you guessed right, six. But you’d have to be really inept to not make above a five, or at least a four. It’s so simple, and they give the weirdest, most irrelevant and stupid (I’m really great with my adjective usage) prompts such as (oh, and this one, might I add, is real unique) “Who’s your hero and why are they?” or, better still, “When you grow up, what do you want to be, and why?”

Really, Florida? Are you that creatively deprived that you can’t think of a better topic for us to write on so that maybe, maybe, it might be challenging or even- G-d forbid- interesting? Please, explain to me as to why I would like to lower my level of writing  ability down to that of a third grader’s so that I may answer your inane prompts that have really no relevance to my educational career, or to my life in general. And for another thing, what makes you so sure that I’m so keen on sharing my persona thoughts with you anyway? What if I wanted to keep to myself that secretly, Harry Potter is my hero and that when I grow up I want to be the Headmaster of Hogwarts? You can just take those prompt pamphlets that you so kindly killed many trees for and shove them up your tiny hiney. Thanks Florida, you were always such an important part of my education…NOT.

Anyway, I’m done with that rant. Sorry, I just really cannot stand what the educational systems have come to. They should make us want to learn, not hate it or dread it. Someday I’m going to run a class that kid’s look forward to coming to, that inspires them, and makes them love it (and that “it” is my love, and passion, English, which Florida so lovingly ruins in every aspect). One day, I will have a class, and I will teach kids to love to read, and to want to write. I will touch their inner souls with the some words that I have come to love, and I will show them that there are worlds upon worlds out there waiting to be created by their hands and pencils. Kids will be obsessed with anything reading or writing related by the time I’m done with them. It will be wonderful, I’m sure of it.

On an unrelated note, I got my hair cut today after -eek!- not getting it cut in a YEAR! I had to get two inches of dead ends off (ew), but it looks so great and healthy now. It is weird, because two inches is a lot, but I love it. I also went to this cool spiritual shop (I love those types of places) and found a pretty Mezzuzzah and Chai necklace pendant that I want to get.

By the way, when you get a chance, look up Tartsy on deviantart.com , you won’t regret it, promise. She’s amazing. In fact, one of her pictures is actually my desktop background, and if I had the money, it would also be a poster on my wall, but alas!-(to quote, well, basically EVERY news reporter:) in today’s damaged economy, none of us have any money. But who am I to talk? I don’t even have a job in the first place.

With much love,

The Jewbie

Leave a Reply

