So I realize I got a little off-topic this past month or so,

September 14, 2010

but I thought it might be a nice break from all the religion I talk.

Anyway, as some of you might and might not know, it is the High Holy Days. They actually started with Rosh Hashanah on last Wednesday, the 8th, and they’re ending at the end of this month with Simchat Torah. But Yom Kippur is fast approaching, and I haven’t bothered to even think about trying to be the best Jew that I can be, this High Holy Day season. Which is pretty terrible. I didn’t get a chance to celebrate Rosh Hashanah with my mom being in the hospital and all, and I can’t celebrate Yom Kippur (it’s too long of a story to go into length about right now) but point being, I’ve been a terrible Jew on all accounts. I mean, I’ve hardly evened davened, for Hashem’s sake! Okay, well I did daven twice on the way to swimming and a friends house, but that was all. How horrible is that? And I’ve totally collapsed upon myself in the how “tznius” dress thing, and I don’t even know what to do with myself.

I think for right now I want to grow in my faith by reading the Torah (and TaNaKh) and learning it to the best of my ability before I even try to follow the mitzvahs (besides praying and [trying to] keep shomer shabbos) or identifying with a movement. Also, I’m trying to get involved with this new Shul called One Shul and it’s run by PunkTorah (check them out here: http://punktorah.org/). They are an AWESOME online shul with people from every movement and they all come together and daven, celebrate shabbat, etc., online. It’s amazing. I’m hoping to maybe write some stuff for them. Please check them out and donate!

Anyway, this was just a blog  to try to make myself feel better for being a terrible Jew but it’s not helping unfortunately.

With so much love I just might burst,

The Jewbie

Leave a Reply

